Love Your Enemies


I’ve been writing about hope lately, my lack of it or my sudden discovery of. This blogger kind of sums up what I should be feeling, what I wish I could express so succinctly. Have a read…good stuff in all of its true sense.

reimaginingthefuture

I recently had the privilege of travelling to the nation of Sierra Leone and working with an orphanage in a place about 90 minutes from Freetown, called Rogbere. I met a boy there, by the name of IMG_2614Idrees, who is 17 years old. When he was just 12 months old, his village was attacked by rebel forces. It happened so suddenly, that his parents had to flee. Unable to carry him, they hid him in a bush. Unfortunately, he was found by the soldiers, who for some unknown and horrific reason dipped his right hand into boiling oil leaving it appallingly burnt and disfigured. When his parents died a few years later, he was left in an orphanage, considered to be of little use. When I talked with Idrees about his hand, he told me that he has forgiven those who did this to him and he would like to become…

View original post 1,452 more words

Leave a Reply

