The Ring


An old story reworked. What would you do, if you were invisible?

Frangipani Blossom

the ring

I found a ring on the floor, the other day: a glint, a wink that caught the sunlight every time I moved my head.

No one noticed me as I stood.

No one looked over as picked it up.

It must have been expensive; a solid gold band, with a thin wire of silver wrapped around like the delicate silk from a spider’s web. It weighed more than I expected it to and as I slipped it into my jacket pocket, I could feel its reassuring presence throughout the picnic.

However by the time we reached our cottage, I had already forgotten about the ring. We were stuck in traffic, and thunderstorms followed us on our drive, all the way home. I went about putting the picnic rubbish in the bin, changing into some indoor clothes, generally tidying up.

Meanwhile Jack declared that he needed a nap, all that fresh…

View original post 769 more words

3 thoughts on “The Ring

  1. What would I do if I was invisible!!!…..am not sure I would do anything. Am puzzled at myself! I guess I already pretend to be invisible whenever I need my space and time….lol. Hubby is gradually getting used to it. So are other people in it…..oh…ohh…it’s coming to me now. I would probably travel around India on my own and be invisible at the slightest concern for safety!:)

  2. What would I do if I was invisible!!!…..am not sure I would do anything. Am puzzled at myself! I guess I already pretend to be invisible whenever I need my space and time….lol. Hubby is gradually getting used to it. So are other people in my life……oh…ohh…it’s coming to me now. I would probably travel around India on my own and be invisible at the slightest concern for safety!:)

Leave a Reply

